Back Home Again

The Bean, Chicago, Self-Portrait.

While I was in Illinois, my Big Brother and I went to Chicago. I had never seen “The Bean” although I’d seen many photos of it, and I tried to get some decent shots on a kind of gloomy day. Everything seen in the pic above is a reflection, I’m about in the center with a camera. From what I saw, and have learned in the past, this has to be one of the most successful art in public places installations on Earth. There were a lot of people milling around. If you look closely you can see blurs and ghosts because this is a multiple-exposure (HDR) image.

There was music in the park, in the amphitheater, and despite the weather (threatening rain, sprinkling some rain) there was a good turnout. I had not been to Chicago in many years. Probably the most recent was in the 1980s on a business trip.

We stopped in to see one of my younger brothers, fourth in line to the throne, in Oak Park. He is unfortunately blinded via diabetes. He has three adult daughters who live near him, and I always hope he’s okay.

Our evening activity was seeing Peter Bradley Adams in a house concert in Berwyn (right next to Oak Park). I had never been to a house concert, and it turned out to be very nice. People brought various goodies and drinks to share, and everyone was friendly. Maybe 30-35 people. I really like Adams’s music, and he accompanied himself on the guitar with a lap-steel guitar player sideman. Good stuff.

Here’s another photo I took of Crown Fountain:

One response to “Back Home Again

  • Mrs. Chili

    I have never been (bean) to Chicago. When I was younger, I used to imagine that I’d end up there (it was actually a toss-up between Chicago and Seattle. You can see how well THAT panned out).

    I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you’re safely home again.

Leave a Reply

