Late for the highway . . .

Bellagio and Caesar’s Palace, Las Vegas.

I haven’t had much to report lately, or much time to do it. I’ve been dutifully studying for my Continuing Legal Education requirements (why I bother, I don’t know for sure, it is just terribly hard to relinquish my license to practice law). Also been slaving in the yard (hot, sweaty, dirty). Almost done with that, a couple of not too odious things left.

In a day or so I’ll start my annual driving trip. To Illinois to see family, then on to Cape Cod. Since I’m dragging quite a bit from law and yard, the drive seems like just another chore, although I usually look forward to it. I’m sure I’ll perk up once I’m on the highway. It seems that every year when taking this trip, I miss my little family more.

I saw a report that the Ford company is going to ditch the Mercury line of cars (and Lincolns may be going away too). I’ve been wondering why they didn’t do it long ago. I think the Ford family had objections, but they may now be willing to let it go. I never owned a Mercury, and really don’t know anybody who does. Whenever I hear Mercury mentioned, I think of that Steve Miller song, and that line (probably misquoted here) “If I had some money, I know what I’d do, go downtown buy me a Mercury or two.”

2 responses to “Late for the highway . . .

Leave a Reply

