Newburyport and Portsmouth

Horse sculpture, Newburyport, MA.

Drove to Newburyport Friday afternoon to meet the chilis and auntie, had lunch in town and walked a bit, and went to the wedding venue. Helped a bit with arranging stuff, and drove to Portsmouth, NH, to register at my lodgings. Dinner with the chilis, and back to town. A brief evening stroll, and bed.

I found Newburyport to be scenic, and rife with photographic possibilities, but had little time for that. The town was jammed with people for some event, “Yankee Homecoming” or something. the tents/kiosks in the center of town did little to enhance the looks of the place, and I’ll certainly go back when things look more normal. The town reminded me a bit of Portsmouth, actually.

The wedding was bright and early Saturday morning on Plum Island (which I do not know to be within the actual town limits of Newburyport). It was a beautiful day, and much cooler than the general run of weather this summer. A perfect day for an outdoor wedding. I took lots of pictures, but will not share them here as they are private to the individuals shown in them. The lighting was pretty harsh, with the sun glaring on the scene. I used flash a lot as fill light, and when I could turned people’s back to the sun. This was an issue of course for candid shots. I’m busy processing the pix on my computer, and will send them off on a disk as soon as I can to the happy couple.

3 responses to “Newburyport and Portsmouth

  • Mrs. Chili

    It was a perfect day, and I’m so glad you were a part of it. I can’t wait to see the pictures! The Girl emailed me the shot you sent her; it’s now the contact picture for both of them on my iPhone.

    I love you.

  • Auntie

    Thank you again for everything! I really enjoyed sitting on the deck chatting with you on Friday. The wedding was nice too, I guess.

    Plum Island is 1/2 Newburyport, 1/2 Newbury. We were on the Newburyport side.

    Please let me know when you are back in town. I would love to see you again.

  • sartenada

    I have said it before, but this so gooooooood.

Leave a Reply

