Photo Archives

When I passed through Illinois this year, I took a side trip to Mathiessen State Park. It was a rainy day, and photo ops were not plentiful. I took this down in the gorge, also known as the Lower Dells, of this seasonal freshet and the mineral-stained rocks. I was in mud up to my ankles when I took this.

This is a shot of the waterfall coming down from Mathiessen Lake, which gives the park its name. This is part of the Upper Dells.

This is the shelter up by Mathiessen Lake (to the upper left of the photo above). Illinois, like many states, is in a budget crunch, and maintenance of things like park facilities is suffering.

2 responses to “Photo Archives

Leave a Reply

